WeightWatchers Wednesday

So with my new focus on health and weight-loss I decided to talk you through my new eating habits (I’m not calling it a diet as it’s a positive change for good!)

Yesterday I cleared out the spare room, previously a dumping ground for EVERYTHING we hadn’t found a space for (cough*allPedro’sthings*cough). It took FOUR HOURS and several instances of me cursing Pedro for his hoarding habits (why does anyone need 4 different duvets?!) This, combined with me catching up on the entire of last week of Eastenders (we now have wi-fi people!) took up the majority of my day. As you can see, I have my priorities straight.

For breakfast, I had 0% fat free Greek yoghurt with some low sugar granola and lots of lovely fruit – strawberries, bananas and even the first ripe flat peach (certain bloggers have been raving about them for weeks so I thought I’d try them!)

20140730-082632-30392507.jpg

For lunch I had that much maligned health food – salad. Lots of people dread salad, but I think it’s all about what you put in it to make it tasty! So I had iceberg lettuce, cucumber, some delicious vine-ripened tomatoes, green olives, a bit of feta and loads and loads of freshly ground black pepper and balsamic vinegar! My lunch clearly looked so delicious that Whiskeroo tried to have some, despite my assurances that cats don’t like balsamic vinegar:

20140730-083049-30649121.jpg

What I haven’t mentioned is that to get me through the sheer horror of the spare room (believe me it was grim) I had a can of diet coke. Not particularly good for you, but low in calories at least. Diet coke has always been my go to when I’m flagging at work, and it certainly always perks me up. I don’t drink anything else with caffeine in and only have diet cokes occasionally,
so hopefully it isn’t doing me much harm!

For dinner I made Pedro and I some fish tacos from the recipe in the recent WeightWatchers magazine. I was unsure about it as I’m not very confident cooking fish, but as it turns out it was mega easy! I grilled the fish which were covered in a fajita mix coating, then we made our own out of taco shells, some rice and salad:

20140730-083524-30924888.jpg

I was really pleased with the result! I also have to say that I didn’t feel hungry all day, and I already feel a bit more energised from eating so much fruit and veg.

So what do you think of my healthy day? Any good recipes I could try?

4 thoughts on “WeightWatchers Wednesday

  1. Melinda says:

    I used to do slimming world and one of my face dishes to make is a veggie rice, cook loads of different veg e.g. Courgette, onion, peppers, baby corn, carrot, sweetcorn, sugar snap peas, edamame beams, pineapple, water chestnuts put it all in a wok and add some ready cooked rice, I use microwave rice and then add to the wok with soy sauce and chilli, yum in my tum for extra protein I used to scramble an egg or indeed some quorn sausage and next day at school it was cold for lunch

Leave a Reply

