Why We Should Make Our Own Adventures

I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget the way you made them feel.
Maya Angelou.

This is a difficult post to write, but one I’ve been thinking about for a while.

Last summer, my friend died. She was one of those people that knew everyone, would help anyone. She had a spark behind her eyes. She was always motivated and positive and strong. She had so much energy. She was always going on adventures all over the world, and her charity work was tireless. Outside of work we weren’t close in the sense that we didn’t spend a lot of time together, but in work she was always helping me, believing in me at times when few others did. She made me feel stronger. She was, quite simply, one of the most inspirational people I’ve ever known.

She died as a result of the most senseless accident. The most senseless chain of events that I don’t have the words for.

I know her death floored so many people – her wonderful family, who she lived for, her close friends who I know miss her every day. The students she taught. The children she was helping through her charity work. But I wonder if she realises how many other people were affected (I like to think she does).

After it happened, speaking to one of my best friends about it (also a colleague), we came to a conclusion that we must continue to be inspired by her, and have life adventures every day. Emma had just moved to Jersey, and I missed her madly. But she was on her own adventure with her gorgeous family, pioneering to craft a life for them all. Another friend of mine was also led to live life more adventurously – she has lived a fantastic life living all over the world, experiencing different cultures. It was the last ‘wish list’ post on her blog that inspired this post of mine – see it here.

So over the last few months I have tried to look forward. To be positive, and strong, and adventurous. To be thankful for the good things, and not let the bad days phase me. And I have noticed a real difference.

This year has been a big one for me with some significant life changes – I have started a new role at work, and fallen in love. But it’s more than that – this year I feel like I have finally grown up.

Ok, so in the sense that I like to pretend my animal socks are real animals and pretend to eat things with them, I enjoy singing in the car with vigorous arm movements, and sometimes I gallop down corridors pretending to be a horse, I am not at all grown up. But in the way that I deal with things, I do feel more mature. I try to portray a positive attitude when speaking to people (although we all need a whinge sometimes!) I have had some setbacks this year, and although upsetting and at times hurtful, I’ve realised that instead of dwelling on it and going over and over it in my mind, there is no use in worrying about it. I have learned that it’s important to make the most of everything, even if it’s sitting watching a box set with Pedro. (Especially if it’s sitting watching a box set with Pedro). I want to help make people feel good about themselves – whether it’s sending a text to an individual after a good rehearsal, or praising a student, or thanking someone who has really helped me. Yes I will have days when I will be in a bad mood and have a right old grump, but I know that I have lovely people around me who will cheer me up, and I know that no matter what Pedro is right behind me.

I know that my friend would love that I am moving in with Pedro. I know that she would be so pleased for me, and would love hearing all the juicy details. This isn’t charity work building a school in Gambia. This isn’t a crazy adventure halfway around the world. This isn’t inspiring others to do good. But moving in with Pedro is my own little life adventure – and I intend to make the most of it.

Who has inspired you to have life adventures?

4 thoughts on “Why We Should Make Our Own Adventures

  1. Everything but the cabbage stick says:

    Love this. Made me a wee bit emotional. And you are right she would be loving the next step you are taking.

Leave a Reply

